Bjorne captures Marquette title

MARQUETTE – KC Bjorne captured his third Marquette Golf Club championship on the Greywalls course on Monday.

Bjorne defeated Chad Wester in the championship match on Labor Day afternoon following semifinal wins in the morning by Bjorne in 20 holes over Bob Luke and by Wester over Aaron Swanson.

Bjorne again needed extra holes in the quarterfinals, defeating defending and 12-time champion Dennis Hruska in 21 holes on Saturday when he birdied the third and decisive extra hole.

In other quarterfinals, Luke defeated Ben Johnson, Swanson downed Scott Erickson and Wester dropped Mike Marietta.

In the first round, Hruska defeated Nathan Aho, Bjorne defeated Mike Devine, Luke defeated Dan Nygard, Johnson defeated Dan Viitala, Erickson defeated Mike Parks, Swanson defeated Austin Hummell, Wester defeated Brett Specker and Marietta defeated Chris Rhoades.

There are the other flight winners – first flight, Parks; second, Jim Higgins; third, Mike McGee; fourth, Phil Pennell; fifth, Kim Frazier; and sixth, Chris Cosco.

Medalist during qualifying was Erickson, who 147 with rounds of 76 and 71.