MTU team earns academic honor

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The Michigan Tech men’s basketball team received the Team Academic Excellence Award from the National Association of Basketball Coaches as nine of its student-athletes were named to the NABC Honor Court for the 2013-14 season.

“Our staff has said this all along, and we preach it to the guys, that there’s a direct correlation between the success on the court and in the classroom,” MTU head coach Kevin Luke said.

The team award was given to more than 125 colleges and universities, recognizing teams with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or better. The Huskies were one of four GLIAC teams honored.

Honor Court members named were Austin Armga, Alex Culy, Jeff Gregory, Troy Hecht, Luke Heller, Kyle Stankowski, Ben Stelzer, Nicholas Stoll and James Wezensky. Nearly 900 student-athletes received this honor, and the nine from MTU tied for second most awarded to a team across all divisions.

Honorees must be academically a junior or senior, have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.2, have spent one year at the institution and be a member of an NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach.