Ex-NMU coach to make Tech sports Hall

HOUGHTON – Former Northern Michigan University head football coach Bernie Anderson will join five others and 1965 NCAA Men’s Ice Hockey National Championship team in the Michigan Tech Sports Hall of Fame during induction ceremonies in November.

Besides longtime Tech football coach Anderson, the other individuals will be; former hockey player Tom Bissett; former basketball player Matt Cameron; former football player Alex Kowalski; former basketball player Jenny Sorenson (Wypych); and former football player Nick Sturm.

Anderson is the winningest football coach in Tech history. The Ishpeming native posted 93 wins during 19 seasons at the helm from 1987-2005.

His most prolific year was 2004, when the Huskies won their first GLIAC title and earned their first and only NCAA playoff bid.

Tech posted a 9-2 record that season, and Anderson was named GLIAC Coach of the Year.

Paired with the 1992 season, when he guided the MTU squad to a 9-1 mark as an independent, Anderson has coached two of the three nine-win seasons in school history.

The 1965 hockey team will be the second to enter the Hall of Fame after the 1962 Huskies’ National Championship team was inducted in 2012.

The 2014-15 season will be the 50th since the 1964-65 Huskies defeated Boston College, 8-2, in the national title game.

The team, coached by John MacInnes, posted a 24-5-2 overall record and claimed the WCHA championship en route to the Huskies’ second national crown.

The new inductees to the MTU Hall will be enshrined on Nov. 7.

Information compiled by Senior Sports Writer Craig Remsburg. He can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 251, or via email at cremsburg@miningjournal.net.