Mustangs’ Ackerman, Pats’ Jackson head All-U.P. tennis teams

ISHPEMING – Noah Ackerman of Munising High School and Chris Jackson of Westwood have pocketed the top awards in the Division 2 All-Upper Peninsula boys tennis awards announced Wednesday.

Ackerman concluded an undefeated season by capturing the division’s championship at No. 1 singles, while Jackson guided the Patriots to the MHSAA Div. 2 U.P. crown for the second time in three seasons.

Other awards, as chosen by the division’s coaches, were as follows:

Division 2 All-U.P. singles first team – Inigo Cepeda and Micah Heath (Gwinn); Thomas Bleau (Ishpeming); Ackerman (Munising); Ryan Rogers and Andrew Peterson (West Iron County); and Quinn LeRoy (Westwood).

Singles honorable mention – Jacob Mongrain and Luke Truscott (Iron Mountain); Cody Johnson (Ishpeming); Joel Schramm (Munising); Mitchell Pickart (Norway); Adam Newby (West Iron County); and Michael Ostlund (Westwood).

Division 2 All-U.P. doubles first team – Jesse Mottes and Nick Bjork (Gwinn); Danny Willman and Sawyer Kujala (Iron Mountain); Ian McInnis and Chase Nebel (Munising); Tylor Capadagli and Joey Pisoni (West Iron County); and Derek Wing and Andrew Duquette (Westwood.

Doubles honorable mention – Mason Bruce and Erik Asplund (Gwinn); Tony Gravedoni and Josh Penrose (Ishpeming); Joel Werner and Nick Cerone (Munising); Tor Thorne and Jordan Mauro (Norway); Aren Newby and Max Maloney (West Iron County); and Nathen Nelson and Jake Kierzek (Westwood).

Information compiled by Senior Sports Writer Craig Remsburg. Email him at