Names and Faces

MTU dean’s list


HOUGHTON – The following area residents were named to the dean’s list at Michigan Tech University has released the dean’s list for the spring semester (a pound sign indicates students receiving University Honors and an asterisks indicate those earning a 4.0 grade point average):

Gwinn: Janna Clement, exercise science; Karly Njust, management; Alexandria Van Duzer, scientific and technical communication.

Ishpeming: Alyssa Chapman, exercise science*; Derek Collar, civil engineering; Logan Edwards, electrical engineering technology; Dylan Etelamaki, electrical engineering; Kimberly Grigg, English; Mindy Harrington, biological sciences*; Daniel Leppanen, computer engineering; Andrew LeSage, biochemistry and molecular biology; Kenneth Peterson, mechanical engineering technology#; Matthew Waters, forestry.

Little Lake:Jared Richards, mechanical engineering#*.

Marquette: Steven Balbierz, mechanical engineering; Brett Barker, biomedical engineering; Ryan Carli, chemical engineering; Brett Dupras, electrical engineering technology; Alex Flannery, sound design; Leah Humphries, scientific and technical communication; Andrew McAuliffe, mechanical engineering; Mallory Miller, engineering management; Michael Ryan, mechanical engineering; Nicole Schlorke, computer science; Lukas Sides, computer engineering; Ryan Vanlandschoot, general sciences and arts.

Michigamme:Zachary Niemi, civil engineering.

Negaunee: Lydia Asplund, accounting; Emma Davis, biomedical engineering #; Kyle Ekstrum, mechanical engineering; Hailey Goupille, mechanical engineering; Evan Leaf, mechanical engineering; Spencer Leivo, general engineering; Cody McGrath, mechanical engineering; Robert Sertich, sports and fitness management; Robert Setterlind, mathematics; Ashley Veale, biological sciences.

Republic:Zachary Barry, mechanical engineering technology.

Skandia:Daniel VanAlstyne, mechanical engineering.

To be included on the dean’s list, students must achieve grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. University Honors students finished in the top 2 percent of their college or school for the academic year.

HFC raffle

winners named

MARQUETTE – The following are recent winners in the Holy Family Club raffle sponsored by the Father Marquette Schools:

May 5: Dan Thomas, $200; Mary “Tina” Yelle, $100; Becky Graham and Alysha Cram, $50 each; and Rich Ledy and Bruce Sherony, $25 each.

May 12: Sharon Petrella, $200; Sue Manninen, $100; Sarah Hagle, Derek Swajanen, and Dan and Deb Vezzetti, $50 each; and Tony DePetro and Rich Schaefer, $25 each.

May 19: Ray Kuczwara, $200; Lorraine Johnson, $100; Ed Bigger, Kit Pillifant and Paul DesJardins, $50 each; and Donna Riopelle and Gabe Leonard, $25 each.

Scouts hold

spring camporee

MARQUETTE – Boy scouts troops from Marquette and Alger counties recently gathered at the rustic campground in Van Riper state Park for their annual spring camporee.

The camporee provided local scouts the opportunity to engage in a variety of events to measure their knowledge of traditional skills, including orienteering, fire building, knot-tying, and lashing.

Most events called on scouts to work as a team, fashioning a stretcher to carry their patrol leader or portaging a canoe through a maze.

Evening activities included an eight-legged race and a Dutch oven cooking competition. A campfire with skits and songs topped off the day.

Bennon retires

from U.S. Navy

CHAMPION – Sonar Tech. Sr. Chief Petty officer Sean W. Bennon has retired from the U.S. Navy after 20 years of service.

He is the son of William and Vicki Bennon of Champion.

Since joining the Navy in April 1994 and after finishing basic training at Great Lakes Training Center in Illinois, Bennon has served in various capacities on several submarines.

In 2011 he began his first shore duty command, leading the Performance Monitoring Team at the U.S. Naval Submarine Support Center in Bangor, Wash.

U.P. students on

Alma dean’s list

ALMA, Mich. – The following area students were named to the winter term dean’s list at Alma College: Douglas Beckman, Aaron Bender and Catherine Closner of Marquette; Jamie Dunn of Negaunee; Kyle Aho and Lydia Anderson of Gwinn; Jarett Sadler of Wetmore; and Cody Kayser of Manistique.

Students who achieve a 3.5 or better grade point average out of 4.0 during a term, while carrying a minimum of 13 credits, are named to the dean’s list.

Anderson attends


MARQUETTE – Bob Anderson of the Elder Law Firm of Anderson Associates in Marquette recently attended the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys annual conference in Scottsdale, Ariz.

Anderson is a certified elder law attorney and founder of Anderson Associates.

At this year’s Annual Conference, attendees from across the country participated in interactive sessions led by experts in the field to sharpen their skills and knowledge on elder law.

The National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys is a professional association of attorneys who are dedicated to improving the quality of legal services provided to seniors and people with special needs.