Prep track: Negaunee runs away for easy victories at home meet

NEGAUNEE – Negaunee junior Jason Bell was a four-time winner while a quartet of Miners girls had a hand in three victories apiece as the host team swept to titles at a high school track and field meet held in Negaunee on Thursday.

Bell won both hurdles events, the 110-yard high and 300 intermediate, while running a leg on the Miners’ victorious 800 and 1,600 relays.

The Negaunee boys scored 150 points to 112 for runner-up Ishpeming. L’Anse was a distant third with 42, Gwinn had 23.5 and Norway 23.

The Miners had a similar margin of victory in the girls meet, scoring 142 points to 107 for Ishpeming. Gwinn followed with 44, Norway had 41 and L’Anse 19.

Freshman Aleda Johnson won the pole vault and 400 while running the anchor leg of the Miners’ winning 3,200 relay.

Other teammates winning three times were senior Clara Churchill and juniors Ashley Tresedder and Alyssa Blake, who all teamed on the Negaunee’s winning 1,600 relay.

Churchill also won the 800 and ran on the 3,200 relay, Tresedder added a win in the 200 and ran on her team’s victorious 800 relay, and Blake ran with the 800 and 3,200 relays.

Ishpeming junior Nya Surah Thomas also won three events, taking the 100, sharing victory in the long jump and running on her school’s winning 400 relay team.

Double winners included junior teammate Jessica Spencer in the 300 low hurdles and 400 relay, along with Negaunee senior Wyleen Kniola in the 1,600 run and 3,200 relay and junior Emilee Lokken in the 800 and 1,600 relays.

Gwinn had a winner in sophomore Nicole Usher, who shared the long jump title with Thomas, while Norway’s lone victory came from Alexis Kallenbach in the high jump.

On the boys side, Miners senior Kevin O’Keefe was the meet’s only triple winner, taking the 100, 200 and running a leg on the winning 800 relay.

Senior teammates Zane Radloff and Keenan Gantz were double winners, Radloff taking the high jump, Gantz running on the 3,200 relay and both members of the winning 1,600 relay.

Ishpeming’s lone multiple winner was junior Tommy Potter in the 800 and 1,600, while L’Anse’s only victory came from Brandon Kemppainen in the shot put and Norway’s by Pat Guffy in the discus.