Beacon Award winners named

MARQUETTE – The Upper Peninsula Association for the Education of Young Children recently named this year’s recipients of the fourth annual UPAEYC Beacon Award in celebration of NAEYC’s National Week of the Young Child, April 6-12.

The 2014 “Exemplary Early Childhood Professional” is awarded to a four family child-care providers in Ontonagon: Annette Trail, Theresa Miller, Carmen Burrows, and Gina Rule.

Through their outstanding collaboration and group support, they represent more than 65 years of coordinated home-based service to the children and families of Ontonagon County.

The 2014 “Outstanding Partner in Early Care and Education” award goes to Connie Martinson, who serves as an instructor in Escanaba for Bay de Noc Community College’s Department of Early Childhood Care and Education.

Martinson is recognized for her efforts to support early childhood programming for her community and prepare her students through valuable field experiences, involvement, and instruction.

The Upper Peninsula AEYC created this recognition award in 2011 to recognize the special people for making a positive difference in the lives of young children in their communities and throughout the Upper Peninsula.

The recipients of the awards will be honored at UPAEYC’s annual luncheon in June.