American Legion Bantam players honored at banquet

MARQUETTE – A year-end banquet saw several members of the Marquette American Legion Bantam AA hockey players pick up team awards for the 2013-14 season.

They were:

Spencer DenBeste – Most Valuable Player.

Justin Hendrickson – Top Defenseman.

Ethan Jones – Unsung Hero.

Colin Gaffney – Most Improved Player.

Aydin Frost – Coaches Award.

Joey Phillips -Leadership Award.

Branden Woodward – Defensive Forward.

Nick Bink – Top Scorer.

Dylan Sibilsky – Rookie of the Year.

Legion finished the season with a 47-14-6 record overall and a 15-0-1 NIHL mark.

The team won the NIHL title, as well as the Grand Traverse Hockey Tournament in downstate Traverse City and the regional Silver Stick Tournament in Midland.

Coach Brian Nebel’s team also captured the District 8 championship and made the semifinals of the Michigan Armature Hockey Association’s State Championship before losing to the eventual Michigan and national champion USA Eagles.

“It was an amazing year for these boys,” Nebel said. “They have a lot to be proud of.”

Information compiled by Senior Sports Writer Craig Remsburg.