Prep track: Negaunee’s O’Keefe captures three events at Michigan Tech

HOUGHTON – Senior Kevin O’Keefe of Negaunee was the big winner as he took three events at the 14-team Michigan Tech Indoor Invitational high school track and field meet on Thursday.

Team scores were not tabulated.

O’Keefe won the 60- and 200-meter dashes, clocking 7.03 and 24.36 seconds, respectively, in the final heat of each.

O’Keefe also turned in a 6.95-second run in the preliminary heat of the 60, while junior teammate Connor Hetrick came in at 6.81, but was fourth in the finals.

O’Keefe also was a member of the Miners’ winning 800 relay team along with Hetrick, senior Jason Cook and junior Jason Bell as they timed 1:41.37.

Bell also was second in the 60 hurdles and NHS’ 1,600 relay, while Hetrick was runner-up in the 200.

Two Marquette Senior High School girls were double winners. Freshman Izzy Peterson of Marquette won the 200 in 29.09 seconds, while taking the 60, where she clocked 8.16 seconds in the finals.

Sophomore Lindsey Rudden took the mile in 5:40.90 and ran on the Redettes’ victorious 1,600 relay in 4:28.62, joining senior Cassidy Thomas and juniors Martha Storm and Calla Martysz.

Thomas added a second place in the 400.

Three other area freshmen were individual winners in the girls meet – Aleda Johnson of Negaunee in the 400, Amber Huebner of MSHS in the 800 and Marissa Maino of Ishpeming in the shot put.

Individually in the boys meet, area winners included Munising junior Andy Cooper in the high jump and sophomore Brett Hannah in the 800; Ishpeming junior Nate Meyer in the 400; Negaunee senior Austin Caya in the pole vault; and Marquette senior Cole Rieboldt in the mile.

Marquette had two other relay winners, Liz Slagle, Olivia Mattocks, Taylor Hopper and Hunter Viitala in the girls 800 relay, and Nathan Schlorke, Kyle Dickinson, Matthew Millado and Andrew Banitt in the boys 1,600.