NIT: Lindstrom, Geary named MVPs

NEGAUNEE – Members of championship teams were named most valuable players on Sunday in the Women’s Division and Class C at the Negaunee Invitational Tournament.

MTU’s Lindsey Lindstrom was women’s MVP and was joined on the all-tournament team by teammates Sarah Stream and Paige Albi. All three starred for the Huskies.

Also making the all-tourney team were Nicole Gustafson of runner-up Crossfit Marquette and Shelle Rochon of consolation champion Negaunee Vet.

In Class C, despite not posting an overwhelming point total, ex-Marquette Senior High School standout Tyler Geary of Peninsula Bank was named MVP.

Pen Bank teammates Tyler Mercier and Boone Bell also made the all-tourney unit, as did Brett Beland and Sam Larson of runner-up Nylund Fisheries, Tyler Jandron of Jandron Custom Home Builders and Aaron Faulkner of U.P. Insurance Agency.