Prep basketball: Newberry’s Paramski, Bryant named All-Straits Area Conference

NEWBERRY – Freshman John Paramski of Newberry High School has picked up All-Straits Area Conference Second Team boys basketball honors in balloting by league’s coaches.

Teammate Josh Hood, a sophomore, earned an honorable mention berth.

Sophomore Gage Kreski of St. Ignace pocketed the conference’s Most Valuable Player selection.

The All-SAC boys honors:

First Team: Kreski; senior Luke Harrington and senior Ben Pearson, Cheboygan; junior Terrance Fuller and senior Ray’Nell Anderson, Sault Ste. Marie; and junior Zach Steiker, Rudyard.

Second Team (four listed) – Paramski; junior Owen Mills (Rudyard); junior Derek Sturvist, Cheboygan; senior Michael James, Sault Ste. Marie.

On the girls side, Newberry’s Taylor Bryant gained First Team honors. The freshman averaged 14.2 points and 3.3 assists per game for the Indians this season.

Teammate Bridget Stoetzer, a sophomore, earned a Second Team spot, while Newberry senior Marissa Rushford picked up an honorable mention nod.

Senior Kelly Wright of St. Ignace was named the SAC Most Valuable player.

The All-SAC girls honors:

First Team – Wright, sophomore Abby Ostman, senior Emily Hinsman and senior Morgan LaVake, all of St. Ignace; junior Ann Diepenhorst, Sault Ste. Marie; and Bryant.

Second Team – Junior Margo Brown, St. Ignace; junior Brooke Hancock, Cheboygan; Stoetzer; junior Bree Swan and sophomore Brenna James, Sault Ste. Marie; and senior Becky Schweizinger, Rudyard.