All-Mid Peninsula Conference Girls Basketball: Ishpeming’s Spencer named M-PC Player of the Year

GWINN – Jessica Spencer of Ishpeming High School was difficult to defend all season long.

Mid-Peninsula girls basketball coaches acknowledged that fact by naming her the conference’s Player of the Year at a meeting Tuesday in Gwinn.

Spencer notched 171 points in M-PC action during the regular season for a 15.5 average – both league highs. She also hauled down 81 rebounds for a 7.4 norm.

The M-PC all-conference list follows:

First Team – Senior Elizabeth Dauphinais-VanBuren and senior Caitlin Hewitt, Westwood; junior Ellie Olsen, Gwinn; freshman Aleda Johnson and senior Rosalie Anderson, Negaunee.

Second Team – Senior Gabby Croley and junior Kaylie Engler, Ishpeming; freshman Jordan Kraemer and senior Rachel Conery, Norway; sophomore Tori Lauren, Gwinn.

Honorable mention – Junior Alyssa Khor and junior Alena Herman, Iron Mountain; junior Jordyn Hutchens, Gwinn; sophomore Courtney Finnila, Negaunee; senior Leah Cook, Manistique.

All-Defensive Team – Hewitt; senior Katie Aho, Gwinn; Finnila; junior Tammy Simula, Ishpeming; Kraemer.