Board makes appointments to county panels

MARQUETTE – The Marquette County Board voted appointments Tuesday to the county road commission and Department of Human Services board.

There were four candidates who applied for one vacancy on the road commission to fill the seat of Darryl Sundberg of Negaunee Township, who recently resigned because of “a number of conflicting commitments.”

The vacancy is for a partial term of office expiring Dec. 31, 2016.

Ray Roberts, former Ishpeming city engineer, received five of the six commissioner votes and was appointed to the position. Commissioner Steven Pence voted for former county commissioner Michael Quayle of Marquette. Paul Gravedoni of Negaunee and Andrew Dellangelo of Ishpeming Township had also applied.

The Marquette County Road Commission is a five-member body appointed to 6-year terms. It is the governing body of the road and highway transportation system in the county and is responsible for carrying out the duties imposed by state law and by the county board.

Carolyn Bridges of Negaunee was appointed to a vacancy on the Department of Human Services Board. She was the only candidate who had applied for a term ending Oct. 31, 2016.

The DHS Board directs operations of social services through its director and is responsible for maintaining and operating the Marquette County Medical Care Facility in Ishpeming.

The board is a three-member body with members appointed for three-year terms.

Two of the appointments made the panel are made by the county board. The third member is appointed by the governor through the director of the Michigan Department of Human Services.

John Pepin can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 206.