Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame elects 6 new members

ISHPEMING – Six athletes and noteworthy sport figures have been elected to the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame for the contributions to the sport.

The newest honorees are 2006 Olympic moguls bronze medalist Toby Dawson, big mountain skier Scot Schmidt, freestyle aerials champion Kris Feddersen, freestyle pioneer and world champion John Clendenin, ski film producer Joe Jay Jalbert and and the late ski show pioneer Jerry Simon.

The honorees will be formally inducted into the hall of fame at a ceremony set for April 5 in Park City, Utah. The ceremony will be the concluding event of Skiing History Week, which celebrates the 50th anniversary of Park City Mountain Resort.

A formal enshrinement into the Hall of Fame is set for Sept. 19 at the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame in Ishpeming, where the National Ski Association, now the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association, was formed in 1905.

The six will bring the total number of Hall of Fame members to 393.

Each inductee received more than 50 percent of ballots cast by a national voting panel of 200 members representing all aspects of the sport.

“Our 2013 Hall of Fame inductees represent an extraordinary cross-section of athletes and sport builders who have contributed at the highest level to our sport,” Bernie Weichsel, co-chairman of the hall of fame, said in a news release. “We’re proud to welcome them as honored members of the U.S. Ski and Snowboard Hall of Fame.”

Dawson, who was lost as a boy in a Korean market, was orphaned and raised by parents in Vail where he discovered moguls skiing. Dawson made the U.S. Ski Team at age 19, winning his first World Cup in 2001. He became world champion in 2005 and earned an Olympic bronze medal the following year. Dawson is serving a key role with the 2018 Olympics in PyeongChang.

Schmidt, a Montana native, was labeled by Powder Magazine as “the original freeskier.” Schmidt’s skiing has been showcased in more than 40 films and pioneered product testing in the industry in his partnership with The North Face that has lasted more than three decades.

Steamboat Springs, Colo., native Feddersen, in his 14 years as an aerialist on the U.S. Freestyle Ski Team, has earned 23 podiums and two top-five Olympic demonstration event finishes. Feddersen played a key role as a coach in the gold medal sweep of U.S. aerialists at the 1998 Nagano Olympics and is co-founder of Flying Ace Productions.

Clendenin, a native of Aspen, Colo., was one of freestyle skiing’s early stars, founding the International Freestyle Skiers Association in 1973 and winning world championships in 1973 and 1974. His Clendenin Ski Method and book “Four Words for Great Skiing” were influential in drawing thousands to freestyle skiing. He also appeared in a host of ski films from producers Jalbert, Dick Barrymore and Greg Stump.

Jalbert, a native of Mullan, Idaho, is an accomplished ski racer whose film career began as a production assistant and ski double for Robert Redford in the 1969 movie “Downhill Racer.” The Emmy Award-winning producer has more than 800 productions to his credit, including four official Olympic films.

Simon, who died in 2010, educated industry leaders and employees through pioneering the Skiing Mechanics and Managers Workshop and producing the SkiGroup resort marketing shows. He also created the International Ski Film Festival. Since 2010, the Jerry Award, named in his honor, has been presented every year by the Ski and Snowboard Institute, part of the hall of fame, to producers of the top films in the industry at the Ishpeming International Ski Film Festival during Skiing History Week.

Christie Bleck can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 250. Her email address is