Prep football: Superior Central earns All-Bridge Alliance Conference honors

ENGANDINE – A pair of Superior Central seniors were named honorable mention in the Bridge Alliance All-Conference football teams named last weekend.

The Cougars’ Justyn Hill earned the honor as a defensive lineman and teammate Tucker Spranger as an offensive lineman. SC finished 2-6 overall and 1-6 in league games.

The Upper Peninsula’s only eight-player football conference has eight teams, two from the northern Lower Peninsula. Five of those teams made the MHSAA playoffs. Rapid River finished 8-0 and was named 2013 Team of the Year as the Rockets also had the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, quarterback Jake Pearson.

Posen linebacker Nick Hincka earned Defensive Player of the Year while Cedarville kicker Nick Ellis was Special Teams Player of the Year.