Prep volleyball: Marquette’s Tayler Smith shares top honor in GNC

MARQUETTE – Senior volleyball player Tayler Smith of Marquette Senior High School shared Player of the Year honors in the Great Northern Conference, the league announced on Thursday.

Smith split the honor with Gladstone’s Callie Jensen while Stephenson’s Sara Johnson was named Coach of the Year.

Smith and two teammates were named to the league’s first team – senior Courtney McGovern and junior Hunter Viitala – while Redettes senior Mariah Grange and juniors Elle Pearson, Morgan Leadbetter and Martha Storm earned honorable mention.

Here are all of the GNC players honored:

Players of the Year – Tayler Smith, Marquette, and Callie Jensen, Gladstone

Coach of the Year – Sara Johnson, Stephenson

First Team – Smith, Courtney McGovern and Hunter Viitala, Marquette; Jensen, Jessica Beaudry and Lexi Hongisto, Gladstone; Lexi Johnson, Stephenson; Ashley Cook, Escanaba; Lauren Smith, Kingsford; and Allia Stewart, Menominee.

Second Team – Summer Demuese, Gladstone; Lexi Rasner and Alie Duprey, Stephenson; Kami Fritz, Escanaba; Emily Murdock and Lillian Slajus, Kingsford; and Brooke Janquart, Amanda Simmons, Maddie Anderla and Amanda Pederson, Menominee.

Honorable mention – Elle Pearson, Morgan Leadbetter, Mariah Grange and Martha Storm, Marquette; Amelia Starzynski, Kelsey Johnson, Bret DeMille and Tiffany Wangerin, Stephenson; Mackenzie Pardonnet, Gladstone; Sydney Gafner and Aalysiah Spencer, Escanaba; Nikki Roberge, Amber Larson, Maria Wiltzius and Sammie Zander, Kingsford; and Paige Barette, Menominee.

L’Anse lands two on

All-West PAC honors

In the West PAC, two L’Anse seniors earned all-conference status – Valerie Rajala on the second team and Rebecca Roth as honorable mention.

In that league, Calumet junior Lexi Rowe was named Player of the Year and Lisa Twardzik was Coach of the Year.

Information compiled by Journal Sports Writer Steve Brownlee. His email address is sbrownlee@