Prep football: Marquette lands three on All-GNC team

ESCANABA – Marquette Senior High School has placed three players on the All-Great Northern Conference football team for 2013.

Center Patrick Dowling (6-0, 185 pound senior), end Kurt Burmeister (6-3, 200 senior) and linebacker Gabe Apple (5-10, 195 senior) made the list in voting by conference coaches.

MSHS honorable mention selections were: Brett Place, quarterback; Holt Richards, offensive line; Shane Duquette, linebacker; Connor Brazeau, defensive back; and Max Bednarek, kicker.

Menominee running back Devon Harris earned GNC Offensive Player of the Year honors; Menominee linebacker Ryne Francour picked up the GNC Defensive Player of the Year nod; Escanaba’s Bailey Lamb gained the GNC Lineman Player of the Year spot; and Menominee’s Joe Noha was named the GNC Coach of the Year.

The complete All-GNC team follows:


Quarterback: Travis Heller, Escanaba.

Running back: Devon Harris, James Brown and Justin Brilinski of Menominee.

End: Kurt Burmeister, Marquette; Sean Sullivan, Menominee; and Cameron Beversluis, Escanaba.

Center: Patrick Dowling, Marquette.

Line: Jake Couflin, Kingsford; Jake Cronick, Gladstone; and Luke Lapperierre and Skyler Rinehardt, Menominee.

Return specialist: Riley Ballard, Gladstone.


Line: Justin Brilinski and James Brown, Menominee; Bailey Lamb and Steve Wood, Escanaba; and Chris Ritchie, Gladstone.

Linebacker: Jake Allen, Kingsford; Ryne Francour, Menominee; and Gabe Apple, Marquette.

Back: Sean Sullivan and Devon Harris, Menominee; Cameron Beversluis, Escanaba; and Cole Tengesdahl, Kingsford.

Kicker: Evan Pohlman, Menominee.

Punter: Dan Fleming, Kingsford.

Players of the Year

Offense, Devon Harris, Menominee; defense, Ryne Francour, Menominee; lineman, Bailey Lamb, Escanaba.

Coach of the Year

Joe Noha, Menominee.