Prep cross country: Marquette’s Rieboldt named U.P. Runner of the Year

ISHPEMING – Cole Rieboldt of Marquette Senior High School won a lot of cross country races this season.

Thursday, he took one more award. He was named the Upper Peninsula Boys’ Runner of the Year by the U.P. Cross Country Coaches Association.

Rieboldt, who took up the sport only this season, was also named to the All-U.P. Dream Team with teammate Lance Rambo.

Another Superiorland runner – Brett Hannah of Munising – also made the seven-member list, as did Jared Joki of Ironwood, Connor Cappaert of Stephenson, David Jazsczak of Houghton and Nate Carey of Kingsford.

Kameron Burmeister of Menominee earned the U.P. Girls Runner of the Year award. She also made the All-U.P. Dream Team.

Others making that squad were Lindsey Rudden and Amber Huebner of Marquette, Abby Tembruell of Hancock, Leigha Woelfer of Gladstone, Kaylee Hoolsema of Rudyard and Lily Calcaterra of St. Ignace.

Dale Phillips of MSHS pocketed the Division I Coach of the Year nod. In Division 2, Matt Dennis of Hancock and Emily Fullerton of St. Ignace share the award; in Division 3, Eric Teysen of Pickford and Jerry Root of North Central are co-winners for the coaching nod.

Marquette took the boys’ U.P. Large Team of the Year honor, while St. Ignace claimed the Small Team of the Year designation.

For the girls, it was Marquette and Munising, respectively, that pocketed UCCCA team honors.

Superiorland runners who earned all-state recognition by placing in the top 10 of the U.P. Finals were:


Division 1 – Rambo, Rieboldt and Brady Aboussleman of Marquette.

Division 2 – Kazmine Langness of Ishpeming; and Ryan Hunt of Westwood.

Division 3 – Nick Maki of Superior Central; and Hannah of Munising.


Division 1 – Rudden, Huebner, Nichole Mackey, Calla Martysz and Shayla Huebner of Marquette.

Division 2 – Natalie Beaulieu of Newberry; Khora Swanson of Ishpeming; and Anastasia Bjork of Westwood.

Division 3 – Marissa Immel of Munising.