MHSAA U.P. Cross Country Finals: Rambo, Rieboldt lead Marquette boys to triumph

MARQUETTE – Senior Cole Rieboldt and sophomore Lance Rambo have provided the Marquette Senior High School boys’ cross country team with a potent 1-2 punch all season.

They continued that trend Saturday as they helped the Redmen capture their first Upper Peninsula Division 1 title in three years with 42 points.

The Redmen were followed by Escanaba (75) and Houghton (86).

Unlike much of the season, however, Rambo was crowned champion this time.

Rambo covered the 3.1-mile event at Gentz’s Homestead Golf Course in Chocolay Township in 16 minutes, 56 seconds. Rieboldt was runner-up at 17:07 on the sunny and seasonably cool day.

“The course was very muddy and the times were slow,” Rambo said. “The water at Mile 2 made it challenging. But the most challenging part came at the end. We just had to push through it (the rolling hills).

“It feels real good to win as a team. Our team ran probably one of its best races of the year.”

Rieboldt was fresh from setting a course record (16:22) in the Great Northern Conference meet Oct. 10 on the Dale Fountain Memorial Cross Country Course at Banat (near Stephenson).

“I went out too fast (Saturday),” Rieboldt said. “Although, it was a tough course. I was feeling it on the hills.”

They were followed by Houghton junior David Jazsczak (17:22), Kingsford sophomore Nate Carey (17:26) and Esky freshman Joey Wolfe (17:29).

“They really ran together. It was just a matter of who had more left in the end,”?MSHS?coach Dale Phillips said. “In the majority of the races we had this year, these guys were 1-2.”

Negaunee’s leader was Keenan Gantz in 12th (17:52).

The St. Ignace boys were crowned D-2 champions for the first time with 57 points. Hancock edged Ishpeming, 67-69, for runner-up honors.

Ironwood junior Jared Joki dominated in 17:09, followed by St. Ignace’s Brad Gustafson (18:18) and Andrew Sjogren (18:23), Norway’s Justin Anderson (18:45), St. Ignace’s Jacob Sjogren (18:46) and Ishpeming’s Kazmine Langness (18:50).

Westwood’s leader was Ryan Hunt in ninth (19:25).

In D-3, North Central gained its first boys’ title by edging Pickford, 66-68. Third-place Cedarville totaled 109 points.

Stephenson junior Connor Cappaert was the individual winner at 17:39, followed by Bessemer junior Zach Mazurek (17:57), North Central freshman Seth Polfus (18:18) and sophomore Bryce Holle (18:22) and Superior Central senior Nick Maki (18:27).

“This is so awesome,” said Cappaert, who was crowned D-2 champion last season.

Munising sophomore Brett Hannah, who copped the D-3 title a year ago, placed 10th this time at 19:02.

North Star Academy was led by John-Henry Kibit, who was 13th (19:11).