Prep girls tennis: Westwood’s Chris Jackson named U.P. Division 2 Coach of the Year

ISHPEMING – Chris Jackson of Westwood High School and Katie Brule of Iron Mountain High School have earned the top honors in Upper Peninsula Division 2 girls tennis for 2013.

Jackson has been named the U.P. Coach of the Year, while Brule claimed U.P. Player of the Year laurels in voting conducted among U.P. high school tennis coaches.

Jackson helped guide the Patriots to the MHSAA U.P. Div. 2 team title, while Brule captured the U.P.’s No. 1 singles crown.

Other award winners are:

First Team singles: Brule and Olivia Truscott, Iron Mountain; Megan Chapman, Westwood; Brooke Luokkala. Gwinn; Gabby Croley, Ishpeming; Katie Piispanen, Ironwood; and Haley Anderson, West Iron county.

Honorable mention singles: Jaime Olson, Ishpeming; Courtney Beauchamp, Westwood; Kiki Piwarski, West Iron. Co.

First Team doubles: Adelle Gendron and Alex Paquette, Munising; Katie Rankinen and Shana Caliguri, Westwood; Libbie Doney and Hailly Thompson, Ishpeming; Rachel Pallin and Danielle Begalle, Ironwood; Elli McCole and Emily Chang, and Kate Bugni and Emily Bugni, Iron Mountain.

Honorable mention doubles: Gabby Hebert and Caitlin Hewitt, Westwood; Brittanie Barry and Emmy Kinner, WIC; and Anja Wiedenhoefer and Nastya Nikulina, Gwinn.