Local golf: Champions crowned on Labor Day at MGC, Wawonowin

Hruska wins record 12th MGC title

MARQUETTE – Dennis Hruska made history on Labor Day, becoming the all-time winningest golfer ever at Marquette Golf Club by capturing his 12th club championship.

Hruska topped Chris Rhoades in Monday’s semifinals and then beat out Chad Wester in the finals to surpass Bill Connors in club championship victories.

“This is my favorite weekend of the whole year,” Hruska said.

Wester defeated defending champion Mike Devine in the semifinals. In the Sunday quarterfinals, Devine defeated Dan Nygard, Wester defeated Aaron Swanson, Rhoades defeated Scott Koski, and Hruska defeated Mike Marietta.

Here are the rest of the flight winners – Bob Luke (first); Kenn Hruska (second); Rick Caudill (third); Mark McGovern (fourth); Kim Frazier (fifth); Jeff Burtch (sixth); and Rich Plantenga (seventh).

Bayer, Koski capture WCC crowns

CHAMPION – At Wawonowin Country Club on Monday, Dale Bayer defeated Mike Maino 5 and 4 to win his first senior men’s championship and Jared Koski outlasted KC Saari 5 and 3 to win his second WCC men’s championship.

In the men’s semifinals, KC Saari defeated Scott Saari in a 26-hole duel while Koski beat Sam Genord.

In the men’s quarterfinals, Scott Saari beat Steve Pope, KC Saari beat Rob Carlson; Genord beat Matt Adamczyk; and Koski topped Mark Clements.

Here are the rest of the men’s flight winners – Tom Farley (first); Kevin Yohe (second); Bart Jeffries (third); Paul Korpi (fourth); Brad Mason (fifth); Paul LaFreniere (sixth); Nathan Larsh (seventh); Ernesto Briones (eighth); and Rick Stetson (ninth).