Wells leads Class of ‘98 at Westwood alumni tourney

ISHPEMING – Jackson Wells had what even he called the game of his life to lead his Class of 1998 team to an 18-9 victory over 1995 on Friday during the Westwood High School Alumni Softball Tournament.

Held at Sunnyside Field near the Ishpeming Township Fire Department in Ishpeming Township, Wells cracked three inside-the-park home runs along with a triple and collected 12 runs batted in.

Teammate Justin LaMere helped turn two double plays, while Jeremy Steele knocked two homers over the fence.

For 1995, Bucky Hillier collected two triples.

The tournament continues today, again at Sunnyside Field, with games commencing at 9:30 a.m. and the last game scheduled to start at 7:30 p.m.

Sunday will feature a trio of championship games, with the day kicked off with the annual Champion vs. National Mine game at 10 a.m.

That’s followed by the 1975-88 classes’ Red Division final at 11:15 a.m., the White Division (1989-2001) at 12:30 p.m. and the Blue Division (2002-13) at 1:45 p.m.

In another game Friday, Dan Nelson hit an over-the-fence homer during a 5-for-5 day as 2008 upended 2012, 18-2. Teammates Chelsie Wealton and Kyle Kestila were also perfect, each going 4 for 4. 2012’s Andrew LeSage was 2 for 2.

The combined classes of 1975, 1976 and 1977 eked out a 10-8 victory over 1987 as the winners’ Matt Davidson and Tim Joki were each 2 of 4 and ’87’s Bob Lahnanen was 3 for 4.

2007 got the skinniest of victories, a 13-12 decision over 2009 as the winner’s Lance Wisuri was 3 for 4 and ’09’s Alex Eppert, Justin Carlson and Tony Dellangelo were all 2 for 3.

1987 held off defending Red Division champion 1978-79-80, 11-3, as the victors’ Grant Kierzek cracked three doubles.

1986 dropped 1988, 7-4, with the winners’ Jen Mitchell going 2 for 3 and ’86’s Brian Syrjala and Jim Prophet both 2 for 4.

2006 taught the new kids of 2013 a lesson with a 10-3 win as the winners’ Spencer Barry hit an inside-the-park homer and triple and teammate Steve Hintsala knocked a ball over the fence for a four-baser. 2013’s Nate Clisch, Justin Demarinis, Jake Richards and Tayler Gray all were 2 for 2.

The combo 1981-82-83 group blitzed 1984, 10-3, as Bob Ogea was 2 for 2 and Mike Wasie 2 for 3 for the winners, while Jim Mitchell hit two doubles for ’84.

And finally on Friday, 2011 won by forfeit over 2005.

In games played Thursday, 1998 tripped 1993, 6-2, as the winners’ Jeremy Steele and ’93’s Amber Emanuelson each went 2 for 3, Steele cracking a homer and Emanuelson scoring a run.

In another game, 1999 tripped 1996, 16-6, with the winners’ Levi Hietikko going 4 for 4 with a triple and teammate Brad Nelson hitting an inside-the-park homer.

Also, 1989 ran past 2001, 15-6, as ’89’s Brad Mason and Jeff Prophet both homered.

In the day’s other game, 1990 won by forfeit over 2000.

On Wednesday, the opening day of the event, 1995 rolled past 1997, 11-3, as the winners’ Kurt Turri and Brad Niemi each went 4 for 4 and ’97’s Ryan Tunteri went 2 for 2.

2008 dropped 2010, 18-3, as Jake Greer hit two homers for the victors, while Justin Farley clubbed one for ’10.

Kirk Hooper and Erik Paveglio homered and Deanna Makela was 4 for 4 as 2007 beat 2002, though no score was available.

The NICE staff got past 2013, 8-6, though the recent grads were allowed to continue on in the tourney. Kim Koski went 3 for 3 for the staff, while Ian Altobello was credited with a big running catch in left field for 2013.

Two teams won by forfeit, 2011 over 2004 and 2006 over 2003.