Olsen sweeps 4-Cylinder Modified races at Sands Speedway

SANDS – Ross Olsen Jr. of Sands was the lone driver to win both his heat and the feature during auto racing held at Sands Speedway Saturday.

Olsen swept both races in the Four-Cylinder Modified division and not surprisingly had the fastest modified time of the day, 17.332.

Ray Keskimaki of Marquette won the feature race in the Super Stock division after Stu Maki of Sands and Stan Wittler of Marquette won the earlier heats.

In the Late Model division, Jimmy Yelle of Gwinn, the alternate driver for Allan Yelle, took the feature race after Mike Mattson of Marquette won the heat.

And in Four-Cylinder Purestock, Doug Maki of Perkins won the feature after Collin Cavin of Marquette won the heat.

Other fastest times were posted by Darryl Britton of Marquette in Super Stock, 16.286; Jimmy Yelle in Late Model, 15.260; and Cavin in Purestock, 18.146.

Members of American Legion Post 349 of Little Lake served as color guard, including raising the American flag, at this event.

Here are top three places in each race:

Purestock – Heat: 1st, Cavin; 2nd, Doug Maki; 3rd, Wyatt Goodwin, Marquette. Feature: 1st, Maki; 2nd, Daniel Artibee, Marquette; 3rd, Wyatt Goodwin, Marquette.

Modified – Heat: 1st, Olsen; 2nd, John “Doc” Holliday, Ishpeming; 3rd, Mike Dupras, Wilson (alternate for Aaron Sprowl). Feature: 1st, Olsen; 2nd, Jeremy Yelle, Gwinn; 3rd, Holliday.

Super Stock – Heat 1: 1st, Stu Maki; 2nd, Terry Royer, Perkins; 3rd, Brian Ely, Marquette. Heat 2: 1st, Wittler; 2nd, Steve Pepin, Escanaba; 3rd, Darryl Britton, Marquette. Feature: 1st, Keskimaki; 2nd, Wittler; 3rd, Pepin.

Late Model – Heat: 1st, Mattson; 2nd, Jason Stanaway, Negaunee; 3rd, Ryan Longtine, Marquette. Feature: 1st, Jimmy Yelle (alternate for Allan Yelle); 2nd, Bob Goodwin, Skandia (alternate for Rob Goodwin); 3rd, Stanaway.