Prep tennis: Munising’s Ackerman, Negaunee’s Tossava named U.P. Players of the Year

MARQUETTE – More than two dozen boys from Marquette and Alger counties were among those named to All-Upper Peninsula high school tennis teams that were announced on Tuesday.

Selections were made through nominations and voting by U.P. coaches, with Division 1 champion Kingsford and Division 2 titlist West Iron County leading the way. Their coaches, the Flivvers’ Mark Shanks and Wykons’ Joseph Serbentas, were each named coach of the year, too.

Among the picks were Negaunee senior Cody Tossava and Munising sophomore Noah Ackerman, both No. 1 singles players who culminated undefeated seasons with victories at the U.P. Finals – Tossava in Division 1 on May 29 at Marquette and Ackerman in Division 2 on May 30 at Westwood.

Not surprisingly, both were also named the U.P. Player of the Year in their respective divisions.

In Division 1, the All-U.P. team included Marquette singles player Josh Downs, who was unable to play in the U.P. Finals due to injury. In doubles, the U.P. Finals’ No. 1 runner-up team of Redmen Kyle King and Alex Shahbazi were honored along with Negaunee’s Doug Lindblom and Nick Martin.

Named Honorable Mention in Division 1 for singles were Justin Flood and Noah Gannon of Marquette and Ryan Syrjala and Rob Sertich of Negaunee. In doubles, honorees included Mike Edwards and Matt Collins of Marquette.

In Division 2, All-U.P. singles honors went to Guillermo Ansede of Ishpeming, champion at No. 2, Hematites teammate Lucas Lisowsky, Quinn LeRoy of Westwood and Derek Reetz of Gwinn.

Doubles honorees included Dallas St. Arnaud and Nick Bjork of Gwinn, Derek Wing and Andy Duquette of Westwood, Joe Paquette and Chase Nebel of Munising and Tony Gravedoni and Cody Johnson of Ishpeming.

Honorable mentions went to Jesse Mottes of Gwinn and Michael Ostlund of Westwood in singles.

Rich Trombly of Gladstone was named honorary coach of the year after he took a leave of absence as Braves’ coach shortly before the season began.