Prep softball: Superior Central, Munising players named to all-district team

RAPID RIVER – Four Superior Central and three Munising players earned honors on the District 97 high school softball first and second teams that were announced on Monday.

In addition, the Mustangs earned the Sportsmanship Award, one of two special awards named along with Rapid River’s George Kanyuh earning coach of the year.

From SC, junior outfielder Molly Swajanen, junior utility player Brooke Pasanen and senior at-large player Lindsay Richmond were named to the first team.

On the second team were Cougars’ junior first baseman Vanessa Freberg and Munising freshman outfielder Alex Paquette, freshman third baseman Darby Coyne and senior pitcher Jenna Hach.

Here are the rest of the honorees:

First Team – Rapid River: OF Kendyl Miller, 1B Aslynn Brockway, 2B Averi Kanyuh, 3B Savannah Stenlund, P Neena Brockway and designated player Hayley Brockway; Ironwood: OF Kaitlyn Tollstam, SS Tiah Pusakulich, C Danielle McCullough and P Kassi Huotari.

Second Team – Rapid River: OF Hannah Kanyuh; Norway: OF Jacey Bal, 2B Bailey Grayvold, SS Rachel Conery and C Bobbi Hulce.