Arts awards note outstanding contributions

Tonight’s a special evening for arts lovers in our community.

That’s because this evening is the 17th annual Arts Awards Ceremony in the Peter White Public Library Community Room in Marquette.

Sponsored by the city of Marquette Arts and Culture Advisory Committee, these awards recognize and thank arts supporters and community members who have gone above and beyond to create fine art or to raise art awareness.

The public is invited to attend tonight’s ceremony free of charge and we’re hoping many turn out to salute the honorees.

Receiving awards this year are Cindy Engle, arts volunteer; Stan Wright, arts activist; Mark Flaherty, arts educator; Ore Dock Brewery, arts business; Tom Buchkoe, outstanding visual artist; Kirsten Gustafson, outstanding performing artist; “Doug Garrison Show,” outstanding community impact; James McCommons, outstanding writer; Gretchen McKenzie, outstanding youth; and Carl Mayer, special recognition.

In addition, a celebratory reception will take place from 5-7 p.m. at the Art Center in conjunction with Lake Superior Art Association’s Annual Members’ Exhibition on display in the Lower Level Gallery for the month of May.

For more information, contact the City of Marquette Arts and Culture Center at 906-228-0472 or via email,

Congratulations to all the winners. Because of your contributions to the arts, you’ve played an important role in making our community a better place to live.