Vango’s tops Dick’s Pump and Munch for Negaunee Invitiational Class D crown

NEGAUNEE – Tournament MVP Kyle Boudreau scored 26 points to lead Vango’s of Marquette to a 64-59 win over Dick’s Pump and Munch of L’Anse in the Class D championship of the Negaunee Invitational Basketball Tournament on Wednesday at Lakeview Memorial Gymnasium.

Nate Abrams finished with 17 points for Vango’s, which landed three players on the Class D all-tournament team – Abrams, Boudreau and Brandon Schon.

Brian Haack had 15 points to lead Dick’s while teammate Chris Loonsfoot scored 14. Haack and Josh Cole both represented Dick’s on the all-tournament team.

Additional Class D all-tourney selections were Ray Johnson of Eastwood and Nate Wascher of Martin’s Sports Apparel.

In Class E, Congress Pizza of Ishpeming and Autrain Grocery of Autrain both advanced to the final of their bracket via victories on Wednesday. Their title bout is set for 7:15 p.m. on Monday with the Class EE championship to follow at 8:15 p.m.

Congress Pizza took down Mary’s Kids of Ishpeming 80-68 behind 30 points by Joey Lyle. Jeff Olson totaled 17 points and Cody Krugler pitched in 16 points.

For Mary’s Kids, Jeff Honkala had 15 points and Paul Honkala added 14.

In the other semifinal, Joe Lasek scored 26 points to lead all scorers, but it wasn’t enough for Corktown Bar of Munising to topple Autrain Grocery.

Autrain Grocery picked up 21 points from Paul Johns, plus got another 14 points from Mike Savola II.

Three more NIT games are on the docket tonight at Lakeview Memorial Gymnasium, starting with the Class EE semifinals, pitting Meyer Family Vision of Ishpeming against 41 Steakhouse of Ishpeming at 6:30 p.m. while E.Q. Muffler of Marquette takes on Steward and Sheridan of Ishpeming at 7:45 p.m.

The night is capped off by the Class DD championship, featuring Portage Health Apothecary of the Copper Country and Sodergren’s Septic of Ishpeming.