Negaunee’s Jandron, Superior Central’s Freberg named all-state by Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan

MARQUETTE – Several Upper Peninsula standout boys and girls basketball players have earned recognition from the Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan.

Junior Tyler Jandron of Negaunee picked up Class C all-state honors through the BCAM, while for the girls, junior Vanessa Freberg of Superior Central earned Class D first team laurels.

The U.P award winners follow:


Class A: Special mention – Mark Pap, Marquette, senior.

Class B: Special mention – Caleb Harrington, Kingsford, senior.

Class C: All-State – Tyler Jandron, Negaunee, junior and Adam Mackey, Ironwood, junior. Special mention – Alex Almquist, Hancock, junior.

Class D: All-state – Brett Branstrom, Mid Peninsula, senior; Dillon Gordon, Ewen-Trout Creek, senior; and Wade Schetter, Carney-Nadeau, senior. Special mention – Josh Hester, Cedarville, senior.


Best of the Best: Lexi Gussert, Forest Park, junior.

Class A: Special mention – Hunter Viitala, Marquette, sophomore.

Class B: Special mention – Carlee Benzie, Kingsford, senior.

Class C: All-state – Elisa Jurmu, Houghton, junior. Special mention – Rosalie Anderson, Negaunee, junior; Bailey Grayvold, Norway, senior; Kelsie Richards, Houghton, junior; and Taylor Wilber, Negaunee, senior.

Class D: All-state – Sarah Cullip, St. Ignace, senior; Vanessa Freberg, Superior Central, junior; and Kelley Wright, St. Ignace, junior. Special mention – Emily Hinsman, St. Ignace, junior; Abbey Ostman, St. Ignace, freshman; Brooke Pasanen, Superior Central, junior; and Teslyn Tyner, Superior Central, junior.