MVPs lead title runs

NEGAUNEE – The three most valuable players named Sunday not surprisingly led their teams to championships on Sunday at the Negaunee Invitational Tournament.

Mariah Dunham of Next Level Basketball averaged 26.3 points for three games to lead her Baraga-based squad to the Women’s Class A title.

The rest of the Class A all-tournament team includes teammate Carly Benson, Lindsey Lindstrom and Maria Kaza from Jack’s Tee Pee of Ishpeming and Jackie Davey from Remie’s of Marquette.

In Women’s Class B, MVP Elena Hemmila wasn’t a big scorer but still led Morning Glory of Negaunee to the title.

Joining her on that all-tourney team are teammate Kenna Marana, Courtney Waara and Mallory Pruett of Shenanigan’s of Negaunee, Ashley Wellman of The Model Towners of Gwinn and Maria Honkala of SISU of Houghton.

In the 45-years-and-over division, John Gilbert from Lewis/Skil of Traverse City earned the MVP as a steady scorer, averaging 24.7 points per game in his team’s title run.

Teammates Todd Fewins and Jim Waiters made the all-tourney team, as did Terry Norman of GE Builders of Negaunee and Stuart Hancock of CPCCA of Cheboygan.