Baraga team captures Women’s Class A crown at NIT

NEGAUNEE – Mariah Dunham went a long way toward bringing her team to the next level at the Negaunee Invitational Tournament on Sunday.

Led by 28- and 25-point totals on Sunday, her Next Level Basketball team of Baraga first clinched a berth in the championship game, then won the title in the Women’s Class A division.

Two other division titles were also decided Sunday, in Women’s Class B and 45-years-and-over.

Not surprisingly, Dunham was named most valuable player in Class A, especially after she scored 28 points in Next Level’s 68-53 victory over Jack’s Tee Pee of Ishpeming in the championship game Sunday afternoon.

Teammate Carly Benson added 15 points in the clinching effort, while Jack’s got 13 each from Sarah Stream, Maria Kasza and Lindsey Lindstrom.

In the morning, Next Level insured that tiebreakers wouldn’t be needed to determine the finals matchup by beating Remie’s of Marquette, 73-48. Dunham had 25 points and Benson 20 as Remie’s Renee Bowerman and Lauren Marshall scored eight apiece.

In Women’s Class B in an all-Negaunee matchup, Morning Glory defeated Shenanigan’s 64-53 to record its third victory without a loss and capture the championship Sunday evening.

Sarah McDonald scored 16 points and Ally Tincknell 12 for the winners, while Courtney Waara contributed 16 and Mallory Pruett 14 for Shenanigan’s.

In the B consolation championship, The Model Towners of Gwinn upended SISU of Houghton, 57-50, as Ashley Wellman scored 15 points in the winning effort and teammates Danielle Kamm and Danielle Hicks scored 13 each. For SISU, Becky Kangas put in 14 points.

Each of those teams had a to win a game earlier Sunday to reach the consolation final.

The Model Towners dropped Sunny Girls of Marquette, 67-47, as Kamm and Abby Roberts had 13 each for the winners and Kari Brockman scored 17 and Olivia DeVooght 14 for Sunny G’s.

SISU defeated the Martin Sports Apparel Cougars of Ishpeming, 59-44, with Maria Honkala scoring 15 points and Kangas 11 for SISU and Karla McCutcheon 16 and Holly Warchock 13 for Martin.

In the 45-over division, Lewis/Skil made their trip north from Traverse City worthwhile with a 91-48 victory over CPCCA of Cheboygan in the championship game.

Todd Fewins poured in 35 points and division MVP John Gilbert added 27 for the winners, while Mike Goggin scored 14 and Scott Hancock 10 for CPCCA.

In the consolation finale, GE Builders of Negaunee defeated The Bombers of Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, 83-68. GE’s Terry Norman scored 18 points as teammates Gerry Zabo-rowske and Jay Chapman had 15 apiece. Keith Mosher scored 17 and Dan Jodoin 10 for The Bombers.