All-U.P. Girls Basketball: MSHS claims title of Class AB Team of the Year

MARQUETTE – They lost only three games all season and only one to an Upper Peninsula school (Houghton).

For that reason and others, the Marquette Senior High School basketball Redettes earned unanimous Class AB Team of the Year honors for 2012-13 in voting Wednesday by members of the U.P. Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association.

Coach Ben Smith’s club, which went 17-3 on the regular season, picked up the Bill Ayers Memorial Award for the third time in the past four seasons.

After losing their first two games of 2012-13, 54-50 to Brighton and 38-31 to Petoskey – both on the road – MSHS reeled off 13 consecutive wins before falling to the Gremlins in Houghton, 56-47.

The Redettes avenged that loss with a 58-55 home win over Houghton a couple of weeks later.

Behind All-U.P. performers Hunter Viitala and Liana Storm, MSHS captured the Great Northern Conference title with an 8-0 record.

In Class C, Houghton was a unanimous choice for Team of the Year and the Pam Selden Memorial Trophy. It’s the first time since 2006 the Gremlins earned the award.

The Gremlins of former Baraga High School star and head coach Julie Filpus posted an 18-2 record.

Houghton claimed the WestPac crown with a 7-1 mark, its only league loss coming to L’Anse in a 60-58 overtime decision.

In Class D, St. Ignace (20-0) picked up the Sherry Masnova Memorial Trophy by unanimous vote as the top U.P. squad in that division. It’s the Saints’ fourth straight team nod, with the other three coming in Class C.

Coach Dorene Ingalls’ team – which claimed the state Class D championship with seven tournament wins – took the Straits Area Conference title with a 10-0 mark.

Craig Remsburg can be reached at 906-228-2500, ext. 251. His email address is