Miners’ Jandron named to Class C AP All-State team

MARQUETTE – Negaunee junior point guard Tyler Jandron was named to the Michigan Associated Press Class C boys basketball All-State team this morning, just hours after leading the Miners to the MHSAA state semifinals at the Breslin Center in East Lansing on Thursday.

Jandron, who was also named the Mid-Peninsula Conference Player of the Year, had 36 points to lead all scorers in a 56-55 win over Maple City Glen Lake in Gaylord on Tuesday.

Not counting the state quarterfinal win, Jandron leads the Miners in scoring with 17.3 points per game, making 49 percent from the field and 75 percent at the free-throw line.

He and fellow starting guard Eric Lori, also a junior, combine to average just 3.5 turnovers per game despite being the team’s primary ballhandlers.

Jandron has also averaged 4.3 steals, 4.0 assists and even 3.7 rebounds a game.

Flint Beecher senior point guard Monte Morris has been named the AP Class C Player of the Year and Michigan’s Mr. Basketball while his bench boss, Mike Williams, is AP Class C Coach of the Year.

Other members of the Class C All-State team are Melvindale Business and Tech Academy senior Taron Ramsey, Grandville Calvin Christian senior Brad Visser, Ottawa Lake Whiteford junior Colin Lake, Addison junior Luke Meyer, Traverse City St. Francis senior Kody Kleinrichert and Maple City Glen Lake senior Mike O’Brien.