Marquette Elks win Skating for a Reason Tournament

MARQUETTE – The Marquette Elks Squirt hockey team went undefeated to win the annual Skating For a Reason tournament in Sault Ste. Marie on March 1-3.

The Elks recorded the first of three shutouts, blanking Big Bear, 5-0. Avery Hopper scored twice for Marquette while one goal each was scored by teammates Michael Johnson, Luke Lahtinen and Cole Brownell, who had the game winner. John Thompson recorded the shutout in the Elks’ net.

Marquette then tied Werner Plumbing of Cheboygan 0-0 thanks to Thompson’s perfect game in net.

The Elks then defeated the Soo Co-Op, 5-2, as Lahtinen pumped in four goals and assisted on the other that was scored by Dylan Lancour. Lancour and Thomas Loh-fink also picked up assists.

The Elks moved onto the semifinals, defeating FOP 2-1 in overtime with Lahtinen picking up both Marquette goals and Thompson earning the win in net.

The hometowners wrapped up their championship by holding off the Red Star Red Wings of Canada, 5-0. Lahtinen led the Elks with his second hat trick of the tourney, with Hopper contributing the other two goals.

Brownell, Lohfink, Johnson, Connor Steer and Sydney McCarthy all had assists as Thompson picked up shutout No. 3 of the weekend.