L’Anse players gain All-WestPAC honors

HOUGHTON – Junior Alex Almquist of Hancock was named the player of the year for the 2012-13 WestPAC boys’ basketball season in coaches’ balloting released Wednesday.

Almquist has averaged a league-best 21.6 points per game this season with a high of 26 vs. L’Anse in league play. His overall season high was 33 at Jeffers Jan. 14.

He is joined on the league’s First Team by five guards, four of them juniors like Almquist.

The lone senior is West Iron County guard Austin Waara, while the league’s other co-champion, Houghton, is represented by guards Ryan LaBerge and Trent Keteri. Paul Torola of Calumet and Daniel Perrow of L’Anse were also selected to the First Team.

Seniors Shane Raasio of Hancock and Cody Goodreau of Houghton made the All-WestPAC Second Team, joined by L’Anse forward Jacob Ostermeyer, West Iron forward Adam Newby and Calumet center Jake Pieti. All three are juniors.

Coaches also named an All-Defensive Team, including Jonny Magaraggia of L’Anse, Goodreau, Pieti, Almquist and West Iron’s Tyler Stafford.

Zack Ohtonen (Houghton) and Keith Denomie (L’Anse) received honorable mention laurels.