SC’s Freberg tops All-CUP honors

EBEN – Superior Central junior Vanessa Freberg was named the Most Valuable Player in Central Upper Peninsula Conference girls basketball recently while also earning mention on the league’s All-Defensive Team.

Freberg and three of her teammates who also earned CUP honors led the Cougars to a 20-0 regular-season record and perfect 13-0 mark in conference games.

SC junior guard Teslyn Tyner and junior forward Brooke Pasanen were named to the CUP First Team, while another Cougar, senior Kelsey Coleman, earned mention on the Second Team.

Munising senior Sheena Sowa was also placed on the Second Team.

Joining Freberg on the league’s All-Defensive Team from Alger County were Tyner and Munising senior Katie Immel.

Two other special awards went to Mustangs players – senior Emily DesJardins won the CUP Individual Sportsmanship Award, while senior Jenna Hach earned the Free Throw Award for making 83.3 percent from the line (20 of 24).

First Team – Casey Charlier, sr. guard, Carney-Nadeau; Morgan Wells, jr. forward, North Central; Sarah Madalinski, sr. forward, Bark River-Harris.

Second Team – Lauren Murray, sr. forward, C-N; Kelsey Shope, jr. guard, Mid Peninsula; Krysta VanDamme, sr. center, MP; Kyle VanBrocklin, sr. guard, BR-H.

Defensive Player of the Year – Charlier.

All-Defensive Team – Shope; Autam Wery, sr. guard, C-N.

Team Sportsmanship Award – Rapid River.