Jandron, Grayvold head M-PC all-star hoops selections

NEGAUNEE – Tyler Jandron of Negaunee and Bailey Grayvold of Norway have been named the boys and girls basketball Player of the Year, respectively, in the Mid-Peninsula Conference.

A unanimous selection by league coaches, Jandron – a 6-2 junior – heads the M-PC honors list for the 2012-13 season.

Senior Tanner Uren of Negaunee, senior Joe Lyle of Ishpeming and senior Derek Reetz of Gwinn are Superiorland players who made the First Team

Those from the area who landed a berth on the Second Team are juniors Eric Lori of Negaunee, Owen DeVooght of Gwinn and Bobby Zhulkie of Ishpeming, as well as senior Travis Swanson of Westwood.

Jandron teammate and senior Andrew Katona, freshman Luke Gray of Westwood, senior Zack Lambert of Manistique and junior Luke Sinnaeve of Gwinn made the All-Defensive Team.

Grayvold, meanwhile, is a senior who tops the M-PC girls’ all-league list.

Gaining spots on the First Team are sophomores Jessica Spencer of Ishpeming and Ellie Olsen of Gwinn, senior Kyra Lauzon of Manistique and junior Rosalie Anderson of Negaunee.

Second Team picks from the area include junior Elizabeth Dauphinais-VanBuren of Westwood, senior Taylor Wilber of Negaunee, senior Lydia Asplund of Gwinn and junior Gabby Croley of Ishpeming.

Asplund, senior Alesha O’Brien of Ishpeming, Grayvold and Wilber made the All-Defensive Team.

The complete selections follow:


Player of the Year: Tyler Jandron, junior, Negaunee

First Team: Tanner Uren, Negaunee; Luke Zambon, Iron Mountain; Joe Lyle, Ishpeming; Taylor Huotari, Iron Mountain; and Derek Reetz, Gwinn. All are seniors.

Second Team: John Grayvold Jr., Norway; Eric Lori, Negaunee; Owen DeVooght, Gwinn; Bobby Zhulkie, Ishpeming; and Travis Swanson, Westwood. Grayvold Jr. and Swanson are seniors, the rest juniors.

Honorable mention: Junior Justin Nyquist, Gwinn; senior Connor Selling, Manistique; senior Gerry Pirkola, Iron Mountain; and senior Brock Weaver, Negaunee.

All-Defensive Team: Jandron; senior Andrew Katona, Negaunee; freshman Luke Gray, Westwood; senior Zack Lambert, Manistique; junior Luke Sinnaeve, Gwinn; and Huotari.


Player of the Year: Bailey Grayvold, senior, Norway

First Team: Jessica Spencer, Ishpeming; Ellie Olsen, Gwinn; Kyra Lauzon, Manistique; Rosalie Anderson, Negaunee; and Katelynn Johnson, Iron Mountain. Lauzon and Johnson are seniors, Anderson is a junior, and Spencer and Olsen are sophomores.

Second Team: Abby Gerhard, Iron Mountain; Elizabeth Dauphinais-VanBuren, Westwood; Taylor Wilber, Negaunee; Lydia Asplund, Gwinn; and Gabby Croley, Ishpeming. Gerhard, Wilber and Asplund are seniors; VanBuren and Croley are juniors.

Honorable mention: Kayla Hakala and Ashley Veale, Negaunee; Morgan Bruce, Gwinn; Heather Evosevich, Norway; and Katie Rankinen, Westwood. All are seniors but for Rankinen, who’s a sophomore.

All-Defensive Team: Gerhard; Asplund; senior Alesha O’Brien of Ishpeming; Grayvold; and Wilber.