Contributions cited

To the Journal editor:

January is School Board Recognition Month, a time to salute the work of our volunteer school board members and to celebrate public education.

The theme, “School Boards LeadStrong,” reflects our combined commitment to leadership and accountability assuring that all children succeed.

It’s an exciting and challenging time in public education. School board members in the Negaunee School District develop policies and make tough decisions that help shape the future of our education system. They bear responsibility for an annual budget of $12 million.

One thousand, five-hundred and eighty-one students, 186 employees and six buildings. They are citizens whose decisions affect our children and build out communities.

Our board of education, and the hundreds like it across the state, preserve the core of our democracy: public education.

They ensure that decisions on school programming are made by people we’ve elected to represent our community’s values, culture and circumstances.

Showing appreciation for the important work of school boards should be a year-round process, but too often we neglect to recognize the dedication and hard work of these men and women who represent us.

In January, the staff and students of our district are asking all members of the community to take a moment and thank a school board member.

Thank you to the men and women who dedicate countless personal hours to ensure the needs of our community are met by our public schools. We salute the public servants of the Negaunee Public Schools whose dedication and civic responsibility make local control of public schools in our community possible. We applaud them for their vision and voice to prepare today’s students to be tomorrow’s leaders.

The men and women serving the Negaunee School District are: Nita Argall, Fae Collins, Virginia Paulson, Dave Rice, Martin Saari, Greg Toutant and Susan Wideman-Schabile.

James Derocher, superintendent

Negaunee Public Schools